Skip Main Navigation

About Us

External Selection Committee (ESC)

The ESC serves the key role of reviewing project applications submitted to the Technology Development Program and making funding recommendations. The committee is comprised of twelve members who represent broad clinical, science, finance, business development and commercialization backgrounds. Collectively they review, score, rank, and make recommendations as to which projects the Center should fund. The Committee convenes twice a year as the final internal selection process step of each funding cycle.

ESC Members

John M Rice, PhD

John M Rice, PhD (Chair)

Director, Life Sciences CincyTech LLC
Managing Partner,
Triathlon Medical Ventures

513-703-1404 jrice@cincytechusa.com

View Bio
Mike Bunker

Mike Bunker

CEO
Cryothermic Systems, Inc.

877-528-2888 mbunker45@gmail.com

View Bio
Steven Girouard, PhD

Steven Girouard, PhD

President and CEO
Securus Medical Group

216-658-5478 steve@ten15ventures.com

View Bio
Steven Gullans, PhD

Steven Gullans, PhD

Chief Executive Officer
Gemphire Therapeutics

steve.gullans@gmail.com

View Bio
John Harrington, PhD

John Harrington, PhD

Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer
Athersys, Inc.

216-431-9900 jharrington@athersys.com

View Bio
Peter Kleinhenz, MBA

Peter Kleinhenz, MBA

Managing Director
Venture Group
CID Capital

614-222-8185 pgkleinhenz@gmail.com

View Bio
Timothy J. Miller, Ph.D

Timothy J. Miller, PhD

President & CEO
Abeona Therapeutics, Inc.

tmiller@
abeonatherapeutics.com

View Bio
Kenneth L Morand, PhD

Kenneth L Morand, PhD

New Business Creation
The Procter and Gamble Co.

513-780-7943 morandkl@gmail.com

View Bio
Josh C Nickols PhD

Josh C Nickols PhD

Executive in Residence,
Life Sciences
CincyTech USA

(615) 554-7000 josh.nickols@gmail.com

View Bio
Joseph Pastore, PhD

Joseph Pastore, PhD

We mourn the passing of our colleague and friend.

Senior Vice President, Clinical Product Development
Juventas Therapeutics

View Bio
Matthew Pollman, MD

Matthew Pollman, MD

Cardiologist,
Medical Industry Executive,
Entrepreneur

415-606-3909 mjpollman@yahoo.com

View Bio
Roy L. Silverstein, M.D.

Roy L. Silverstein, M.D.

Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine Medical College of Wisconsin

414-805-0518 rsilverstein@mcw.edu

View Bio
Jeremy Touroo

Jeremy Touroo

Venture Partner
BioStar Ventures

231-487-9186 jtouroo@biostarventures.com

View Bio
Randy Werneth

Randy Werneth

Co-Founder, President & CEO CardioCorX

View Bio

End of main page content.